The highs, the lows and the in betweens

I was at an event today. There were 500+ women, and it was great fun. I was happy to be there. I like meeting new people, getting to know they stories and networking.

But, as people clicked pictures around me, or even as I posed for pictures, I knew that this is one of those high moments of life. This cannot be everyday life. It’s after the event that people go back to their real lives. Some women will go home and cook for their families, some will tend to their kids, some will spend what’s left of the weekend relaxing, before they go back to work on Monday.

The highlights are just the highlights. There’s way more to life than them. Meeting a bunch of strangers can be fun. But you go home to the people who love you. These people are messy, complicated and sometimes annoying. But they are your people.

I think life becomes easier when you accept the reality of it. Highs and lows will come. However, the moments in between are where life really happens. You can try to run away from those moments, and chase the highs. But when has chasing anything brought peace?

Leave a comment